Nineteen teams have confirmed their participation in Rwanda’s annual motorsport Race-Rwanda Mountain Gorilla rally which is scheduled to take place this weekend, September 8-10th.

The Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally, known originally as the Fraternity Rally, is an international racing event organized by the Rwanda Automobile Club.

The rally is organised in the Rwandan capital, Kigali. The event is part of the African Rally Championship and Rwanda National Rally Championship.

Uganda has the biggest number of participants with 10 drivers and co-drivers.

Burundi comes second with a total 9 drivers and co-drivers. They include the winner of last year’s season Bukera Valery and his compatriot Rudy Cantanhede who became the champion after winning three seasons-2004, 2008 and 2010.

Rwanda will be represented by seven drivers; Gakuba Diotis Tassos and Kayitankore Lionel (Toyota Corolla).

Others are Gakwaya Jean Claude and Mugabo Jean Claude(Subaru Impreza), Nizette Christophe (Subaru Impreza), Nyiridandi Fabrice and Karingirwa Regis (Toyota Celica).

However, Giancarlo Davite, winner of the rally – 2013 season will not represent Rwanda in this season. Aboard a Mitsubishi Evo X alongside his Burundian co-pilot Slyvia Vindevogel, Davite will represent Belgium.

Other countries in the rally include; Zambia, Kenya and UK.

Camera: Sesonga Junior Derrick
Editing: Sesonga Junior Derrick

Leave a Comment